Post-baby juice cleanse and Whole30 prep

So I’m kinda new to this blog thing.  I only say “kinda” because I came up during the days of LiveJournal and all that silliness and I used to write all the time (more than a decade ago).  I know it’s a commitment to keep these things going and, other than personal relationships, I find commitment to be a very scary thing.  Anyway, let’s play a little game of catch-up, shall we?

I’m Sam, I’m 31 (about to be 32), I’m married with a 4 month-old son, and I’m deeply dissatisfied with what I’ve let happen to my body over the years.  At the peak of my fitness, I was an active teenager, I played soccer, volleyball, ran- you name it- and weighted in at a nicely-toned roughly 120 lbs- that was before I hit my early twenties, settled in with the man who would be my husband, and decided on pastry as a career.

These days, my post-baby body is one that I barely recognize with all the extra baggage, sore joints, stretch marks, etc. At my last checkup, I weight 206 lbs.  Two. Hundred. And also, six.  WTF?  How did I let this happen?  I’ll tell you how.  Too many late dinners consisting heavily of meat, starches, and cheese (hello, I’m a Wisconsinite- we like LOVE our friggin’ cheese), very little exercise other than working on my feet, and a husband who loves me exactly the way I am and sees no reason to change our routine.

I’ve tried a lot of different methods for weight management over the years- most of them coming to an abrupt halt when, shockingly, I couldn’t commit to keeping a routine. The best thing I’ve tried, and I wouldn’t recommend it for everyone, was hypnotherapy.  My main issue in my personal Battle-of-the-Bulge has been conquering my weak will, and hypnotherapy helped me achieve that, if only temporarily (more on that down the road).

Yesterday I began a juice cleanse because my stomach has just been WRONG ever since I gave birth.  I watched Fat, Sick, and Nearly Dead last year, and it moved me just enough that I feel like I can keep referring back to it when I need a reboot.  I have plans to start a Whole30 either in August or September, and I’m just trying to mentally prepare for that.  I have a lot of research to do in the meantime and need to look for the book so I always have it on hand when I’m off Wifi.  If anyone happens upon this post and feels compelled to offer advice for a first timer, I would be exceedingly grateful 🙂

That will do it for now.  I’ll update as I go- I’m hoping to keep my cleanse this time to an abbreviated 3 days- ending tomorrow night; at which point I’ll slowly re-introduce known problematic foods like dairy, gluten, and sugar.

Until next time

-x

 

Leave a Reply

