Whole30 Day 2…

So here we are. It’s August now, which means it’s my Whole30 month. Please note that I did not choose this month to dive into this ridiculous BS. It was suggested to me by a friend that we do it together since late last month was when I decided to go through a 3-day juice cleanse because my GI system was just wrong. I learned this morning that my friend did not start her Whole30… because of reasons. Whatever. I figured I’d be on my own anyway.

Coming up this month I’m doing a visit to the state fair, a family BBQ that has been in the works for several months(which we may end up canceling due to inclement weather and newly started construction on our street), a bachelorette party, my birthday, and a long-anticipated concert down in Chicago. Yeah. Great month to jump into Whole30.

Yesterday morning started out well enough with eggs and veggies. I was happy (initially) starting the month on a Tuesday because it’s my off day and I’d have a whole day to meal plan and prep and whatever needed to be done. Well, none of that happened. Because teething infant. Basically what happened was that I had no time and only half of the ingredients needed to make all the meals I wanted to, and I spent the whole day hungry and aggravated, not to mention worn out from malnutrition. I planned compliant spaghetti squash taco boats for dinner, and then found that my husband doesn’t know what a spaghetti squash looks like and he bought a butternut instead. #facepalm  So in a pinch I did yellow bell pepper taco boats instead, which subsequently gave me raging bowel issues. I just can’t win.

This morning I woke up early with Charlie and made some breakfast sausage with the ground pork my loving hubby brought me, and had some hash with eggs and frozen hash browns and a few sausage patties. For lunch I brought my leftover taco boat (do I dare?) and a small salad with hard boiled egg and avocado. I also have some cherries and raw almonds for snacking. I honestly don’t know how I’m going to get through this with cake scrap and buttercream staring at me 9-10 hours/day and a home situation that is in no way conducive to a strict clean-eating lifestyle.

Getting into a physical activity routine… I don’t honestly even want to think about that right now, but it needs to be done.  I’m so lazy on my days off.  I just don’t want to do anything that I don’t absolutely HAVE to do (like taking care of my baby, duh).  My sister-in-law told me she’s been doing something called “cize” with BeachBody on demand which she said- seriously, she said this- she does twice a day because it’s “fun.”  I… just don’t know what to make of that statement.  I still haven’t been able to drag myself out of bed for early walks with Rosie because Charlie still isn’t sleeping through the night and I literally just can’t.  Sleep deprivation SUCKS.

Slowly, but surely, I’m working on this.  I’m so tired of being uncomfortable in my clothes, of being too embarrassed to have my picture taken, of still having to wear maternity pants.  I’m just over it.

Laters

-x

Leave a Reply

